2023 Nobel Prize in Physics Attosecond light pulses: taking snapshots of electrons in matter

Dr. Carsten Ullrich
Physics 120

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 was awarded to three physicists, Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz, and Anne L’Huillier, for “experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter”. Prof. Carsten Ullrich, MU Dept. of Physics & Astronomy, will present a colloquium discussing how these discoveries have given humanity new tools for exploring the incredibly fast processes that rule the quantum world of electrons.


This talk is for faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students alike from all disciplines. Light refreshments will be served at 3:40 pm in Rm 223 A.