Fall 2017

Physics Bldg

The annual Physics Leaders' meeting takes place on Friday, Oct 13th, 2017. An agenda of all activities is included. Everybody is welcome to attend!

Physics Newsletter 2017

Abigail Warden and Prof. Carlos Wexler

On September 12, 2017, MU Office of Undergraduate Research hosted a poster session for undergraduate students, providing them with the opportunity to present their summer research conducted off-campus. Shown in the picture is physics major, Abigail Warden, explaining her summer research to Prof.

Solar Eclipse

This is a conference on various topics in physics and astronomy, including a few critiques of Thomas Curtright in view of the five decades he has enjoyed impersonating a physicist.  (August 21st is his 69th birthday.)

Summer 2017

Haojing Yan

Congratulations to Prof. Haojing Yan! He is this year's recipient of the 2017 Provost Outstanding Junior Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award!

Spring 2017

Physics graduates 2017

(from left to right) Prof. Haojing Yan, Jacob Brown, Tina Rezaie Matin, Andrew Gillespie, and Prof. Gavin King at commencement 2017!

The Physics and Astronomy Department would like to congratulate all physics majors (undergraduates and graduate students) who received their BS, MS or PhD and wishes them all the best in their future careers! Congratulations!!!


Prof. Ping Yu

The Outstanding Advising Award promotes and encourages recognition of outstanding advising services to the students of the University of Missouri. Prof. Ping Yu is one of the two recipients of the award this year.

prof. Suchi Guha

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes MU educators who contribute to student learning and personal development through out-of-the classroom experiences. A critical component of student learning and success is quality interaction by students with faculty and staff.

Karen King receiving award

Missouri Student Association awarded prof. Karen King the MU Chancellor's Excellence Award for creating Open Educational Resources. Prof. King was recognized for developing curriculum materials for Physics 2330 and making them available to students. The materials were developed by Prof.

Physics Club

In the picture: Peter W Kampschroeder, Abuzar Mahmood, Dorina Kosztin, Abigail Warden, Amrit Bal, Sarah Van Hoesen

The Physics Club (local chapter of the Society of Physics Students) has been recognized by the SPS National Council as a "Notable SPS Chapter" for their efforts to contribute to the campus community.

Fall 2016

Linda Godwin

Congratulations to Prof. Linda Godwin for being inducted in the Mizzou Homecoming Hall of Fame!