Suchi Guha

Prof. Suchi Guha has been selected as a “Special Visiting Researcher” by the Brazilian National Science Foundation under the program “Science without Borders”.

David Stalla

Every year, the Missouri Students Association hosts the TA Choice Awards. The award is an opportunity for students to recognize a teaching assistant who has gone above and beyond the line of duty. One of this year’s recipients of the TA Choice award is physics graduate student David Stalla.

Arjuna Flenner

Congratulations to MU alumnus Arjuna Flenner, who earned a doctorate in physics from our department in 2004. Flenner has been named one of 21 Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers of the Year by the U.S.

Physics Bldg

Benjamin Bolin, Dan Paterson, and Daniel Van Hoesen have been awarded the Missouri Clean Energy Challenge Student Team Award ($10,000) for a project using thermoelectrics to convert waste heat into electricity.

Grad Students Outreach

Students from the Department of Physics and Astronomy won the 2014 Chancellor’s Award in Public Outreach: 2nd Place at the Mizzou Adventures in Education event on April 12th.

Deborah Hanuscin, Associate Professor with a joint appointment in the MU College of Education and College of Arts and Sciences, was named the 2014 Outstanding Science Teacher Educator of the Year by the Association for Science Teacher Education.

Meera Chandrasekhar

COLUMBIA, Mo. – Meera Chandrasekhar, Curators’ Teaching Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Missouri, has been named the recipient of the Baylor University Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching.


Solar eclipse

WHAT: A total solar eclipse of the sun will sweep across the U.S. continent on Aug. 21, 2017. The eclipse, with a total duration of 90 minutes, includes an area of “greatest duration” that falls directly above Columbia, Mo.

REU 2015 students

The department’s NSF-sponsored Research Experience for Undergraduates is coordinated by Dr. Karen King.